Wednesday, April 30, 2008

Blindness

I read in the paper a few days ago that one of the top films at Cannes this year is Blindness, an adaptation of the novel by the same name by Jose Saramago. As far as I know that's his most celebrated novel, but I haven't read it because I don't like dystopian world-gone-wrong fiction (in this one, most of the world has lost their sight). However I did read, in high school, one of his other novels, All the Names:

The main setting of the novel is the Central Registry of Births, Marriages and Deaths of an unnamed city. This municipal archive holds the vital records for all residents of the city stretching back several centuries. The main character is called simply Senhor José (Mr. Joseph). Senhor José is fifty years old and has worked as a low-level clerk in the registry for more than twenty years. His residence adjoins the registry. Senhor José's hobby is creating dossiers about famous people. One day he realizes that having their birth certificates would complete the files. He begins sneaking into the registry late at night to obtain them. One evening he stumbles across the records of an ordinary, unknown woman. He becomes intrigued and embarks on a search for the woman. Along the way, he commits various illegal and unprofessional acts.

Although it wasn't your typical story with the usual kind of plot I couldn't put it down, and I think I even cried at the end. I loved it, and Saramago is undoubtedly a literary genius. He took a lot of liberties with his writing style - I remember for one super-long sentence took about 24 lines! He would also often write whole pages of philosophizing that were a puzzle for my brain. I recommend that everyone should read something like it (modern? post-modern? I'm bad with these terms) at least once. It was fun and exciting to read something that broke all the "rules" of fiction, but after that it was also a comfort to come back to regular literature.

Sunday, April 27, 2008

Christ is Risen! - Easter moments

Last night was the Easter service at St. Nicholas Mission. We met around 9ish and took turns reading from the Book of Acts. Then at midnight we had the Easter service where we received the Light, and then the procession outside the church, then sang the Paschal Canon and served the Divine Liturgy. We were done that around 2:30, then we all ate and I left the church around 4:20. Here were some of my own personal favourite highlights:

  • While we were reading the acts of the Apostles, I went to get something from the back room, and saw Fr. Nicholas sitting with Anamaria, practicing reading the Gospel in Romanian. He put so much effort, it was so cute! Then later, during the Liturgy, hearing him read it was really nice as well. What a great man.
  • Hugh coming in wheezing halfway through our reading of Acts. I was afraid he was having an asthma attack or something, but it turns out, the poor guy biked there from work. Darn you TTC union, for striking at the worst time ever!!!
  • Andrew reading in Spanish from Acts, and four different people reading in French. What a great parish :D
  • The following quote:
Suzi: I like the French text better than the English.
Nick: Why?
Suzi: I dunno...
*later*
Suzi: Probably because the English (version that we were reading) is archaic and the French is modern.
Nick: I thought it might be that. But I was thinking it differently: The English is beautiful, while the French is plain.
  • During the procession, having everyone singing at different times lol.
  • The four verses that the priest sings, in front of the closed door. "Let God arise, and let his enemies be scattered!"etc. Lovely melody.
  • Singing Hristos a Inviat in Romanian with Anamaria.
  • Fr. and Anamaria singing Christ is Risen in French.
  • Hugh and Nicholas singing Christ is Risen in Greek.
  • Kissing and wishing everybody Christ is Risen in a variety of languages after the Paschal Matins.
  • The Gospel, John 1:17, read in English, Slavonic, Romanian, Spanish, and French.
  • Two very tired little boys, 6ish and 9ish, fast asleep at the back of the Church during the Liturgy. We served Liturgy till about 2:30 am, so no wonder the poor guys were exhausted. So adorable though! And then during Communion their mom woke them up and was standing behind one of them with hands on both sides of his head, basically keeping his head up.
  • All the FOOD!!! Wow there was probably enough food for triple the amount of people we had. I lost my egg-cracking contest with Anamaria, but that's ok, because I wanted to eat the egg anyway. It was all delicious! Meaty, cheesy, and eggy. Andrew also made a salad, to keep us all from blocking all our arteries right then and there.
  • Andrew telling us about a radio show he was listening to where they were discussing the public transit strike, and this one Greek man calls in and is MAD, saying "DON'T THEY KNOW IT'S ORTHODOX EASTER?? HOW COULD THEY DO THIS, THIS IS RIDICULOUS, PEOPLE NEED A WAY TO GET TO CHURCH, WE NEED TO CALL IN THE ARMY!" (I may have paraphrased it from Andrew's paraphrasing, but the army part was definitely said).
  • I have no idea what they were talking about, but I caught this snippet of conversation from the priest's side of the table:
Fr. Nick: ...again and again in peace let us pray to the Lord...
  • One of the little boys woke up, and as we were clearing everything up he was playing scary movie suspenseful death music on the organ/keyboard. LOL it was completely clashing with the whole theme of Pascha (Easter).
  • Trading Easter eggs with people, since we all brought sooo many, and going around at the end giving out the last of my eggs. "Here have an egg" and I'd just hand it to them. It was a lot more effective than announcing that people should help themselves to eggs.
  • In the car on the way home at 4:30 am, Anamaria telling me about the trends in Orthodoxy within the last century. It was a surprisingly animated discussion considering it was the middle of the night, and the day had been exhausting.

And one from two nights ago, from Great and Holy Friday, after the service:
  • In the choir we couldn't agree on a particular point that we were going to sing, so we asked the priest how it should be done:
Andrew: Fr, help us out, we're having a sort of Proto-Pentecost here, all speaking in different tongues. (this is especially hilarious b/c Orthodox don't believe in the whole "speaking in tongues" thing that some Protestants practice).

All in all, the services were lovely. Though next year we are definitely going to master the Paschal Canon. Definitely.

Wednesday, April 23, 2008

Easter and the Mountains

Continuing my sporadic Easter countdown from last time...

Only 4 more days till Easter! I can't wait for the service and all the accompanying celebrations. Even though it's not exactly traditional (or at all traditional), I'm going to (attempt to) make tiramisu for our post-Liturgy meal.

On the topic of food, I recently successfully made these date squares which were quite good, so I recommend it. I think the orange zest is the key to the deliciousness.

I also found one of the funniest Orthodox blogs ever: http://orthromance.blogspot.com/ Great writer who is very accurate in his descriptions.

Today I thought about my trip to Romania from last year, and went through some of my pictures. There are so many beautiful things there, but I thought at least I'd share this one of gimmicky tourist shops in the mountains (better resolution if you click on it).

Monday, April 14, 2008

Voyages

First of all, only 12 more days till Easter! Yay! I'm starting to fantasize about eggs! Red eggs, blue eggs, green eggs, yellow eggs, eggs with tacky plastic stickers, burgundy eggs with beautiful parsley leaf motifs, and, most of all, egg-cracking contests!

This summer should be relatively eventful - I'm going to the Canadian Linguistic Association's Annual Conference in Vancouver at the end of May, then at the end of June I'll be spending a month in La Pocatiere, Quebec. Probably by the end I'll be talking like a hick from deep in Gaspesie. :D

Cool thing of the day: the McGurk effect, and how to hear with your eyes! To see what it's all about, check out this video. First close your eyes and just listen to the audio. Then actually look at the video and listen carefully. Once you are thoroughly perplexed and perturbed, check out Wikipedia for an explanation.

Lastly, thanks to Lyra for this super-cute video! Poor mommy! and poor babies!

Tuesday, April 8, 2008

Bachelor of Arts' Hicchoughs

Cool thing #1:

As of yesterday at 6pm, I have officially finished all the classes in my undergraduate career. Of course, I missed the my last hour of class ever for my BA, but we'll just say, uhh, that that was a very effective method of avoiding any potential sentimentality. (right...)

Cool thing #2:


If you've ever wondered if those hokey cures for hiccoughs, such as getting a sudden scare, or hopping on one leg in a circle actually work, the answer is no. However, I have something that does work, and you will all love me for posting it. I learned this trick from an amateur actor a few years ago and have had the occasion to use it every once in a while, including today. Apparently it's a very well-kept secret in the theater industry.

You will need a glass filled to the top with water. Then you need to bend forwards from the waist such that you make a 90 degree angle with your body, and while in that position you need to drink at least four or five mouthfuls of water. It will probably be hard to impossible to drink from the regular side of the glass, so you will have to drink from the opposite side, that is, tipping the glass away from you. Or get a straw. Then stand up, and TA-DA! you are cured.

You can thank me later. I take cash and personal cheques.

Cool thing #3:

The title of this blog contains all sorts of cool linguisticky phenomena. We have instances of each compounding, homophony, modification, and irregular/archaic spelling.

Monday, April 7, 2008

No one says I have to upload every day...

... but I figure, while I have the momentum, I should.

Rifling through the Romanian community newspaper today I found this lovely bit of poetry translated from Romanian:
Tell me, if I caught you one day
and kissed the sole of your foot, wouldn't you limp a little then,
afraid to crush my kiss?...
Nichita Stanescu, 1933-1983


This is a random picture I found while going through Facebook groups and I loved it I loved it I loved it. For the confused among you, the person whose hand is being kissed is a priest.

Lastly, don't forget to comment!

Sunday, April 6, 2008

Fleecestudio

I got the urge to start a new blog tonight - well ok to be honest I've had this blog for a while - I guess it's more accurate to say I got to urge to actually post on this blog. The main motivation was probably the fact that I have to write a paper for Monday (as of right now it's 25-30% done) and when there's work to be done I always have cool ideas (during last term's exam session I wanted to paint the kitchen).

Since I already have another blog where I write about personal woes and joys I'm going to attempt to keep that to a minimum here - it would be much cooler to make this the happy blog - the place where I post all the random awesomeness I've encountered recently. Being a stickler for giving credit where credit is due, I have to admit that this is in no way my own innovation - in fact I stole the idea from, well, everybody.


To start with, here is a picture of my old bird, Bobby. She was with us for about seven years and has now passed on to birdie heaven (I'm sure I'll get called a heretic for saying that :D). She's closing her eyes here against the flash.

Since it is Lent and our Orthodox church services are filled more than usual with beautiful hymns and prayers I'll include one of my favourite lines.

Now the powers of heaven invisibly with us do serve
Lo the King of Glory, the King of Glory enters
-Liturgy of the Presanctified Gifts


Lastly, I like comments! Feel free to write something, whatever!